Sumner Square (1985)
The complex begins at the corner of 17th and M Streets with a restored historic landmark, the Charles Sumner School of 1872 by Adolph Cluss, to which was added an addition almost indistinguishable from the original building. Just east of the Sumner School is the former Magruder School, a building of little intrinsic distinction which was retained for its aesthetic compatibility with the Sumner. The two schools were then connected via an 11-story glazed background tower for which new gabled brick entrance wings were created. The entire complex centers on the courtyard of the National Geographic Society across M Street to the south, making a block in Washington unique in its urbanity and variety.